Submit a Request...Receive the help you need!
We've helped 23 clients find affordable attorneys today.

Click here to know more about membership
  • Members have 24/7 emergency access to their attorneys via Mobile App.
  • Legal consultation for all personal legal matters.
  • You get instant access to your own dedicated law firm.
  • Membership covers you, your spouse/partner, children and dependents.
  • 101 more reasons. Read here
Close

West Virginia identity theft laws

HomeIdentity TheftWest Virginia identity theft laws

In West Virginia, identity theft issues are under the criminal laws of the state and are regarded as a serious crime. They are placed under a felony class offense under the code section 61-3-54.

The identity theft laws in the state are as follows:

  • An individual committing identity theft should face a fine of more than $1,000 or penitentiary for up to 5 years.
  • According to the state law,  the criminal statutes of identity theft laws are not applicable if the fraudster is a minor.
  • An identity thief is subjected to probation and may be ordered to pay restitution, depending upon the loss incurred by the identity theft victim.

Important: The articles available on uslawyer.us are neither legal advice, nor a replacement for an attorney. The articles are general information and guidance concerning different legal issues. We make sure that these articles prove helpful to you but we do not promise or guarantee that they are suitable to your condition. We also do not take responsibility for any loss that might cause to you using these articles. Hence, it is strictly suggested to not to rely on the information provided in these articles completely without getting expert legal advice. It is also suggested to consult or hire an attorney in case of any doubt.