Submit a Request...Receive the help you need!
We've helped 11 clients find affordable attorneys today.

Click here to know more about membership
  • Members have 24/7 emergency access to their attorneys via Mobile App.
  • Legal consultation for all personal legal matters.
  • You get instant access to your own dedicated law firm.
  • Membership covers you, your spouse/partner, children and dependents.
  • 101 more reasons. Read here

Divorce in Wisconsin

HomeDivorce WisconsinDivorce in Wisconsin

Irrecoverable breakdown of the matrimony is the only ground for divorce in Wisconsin.

The irrecoverable damage of the marriage may be proved by a joint petition given by both the partners requesting a legal separation on specific reasons.

The educational status of each party at the time of matrimony and at the time the execution is initiated for spousal maintenance.

Divorce Process

  • In the state of Wisconsin, to register a petition for divorce one of the partners should be a resident of Wisconsin for at least 180 days.
  • He or she should have been in the county for 1 month immediately before registering the divorce file.
  • The court will not grant hearing on the divorce until 4 months after the defendant is served the subpoena or after registering a joint petition.

Important: The articles available on are neither legal advice, nor a replacement for an attorney. The articles are general information and guidance concerning different legal issues. We make sure that these articles prove helpful to you but we do not promise or guarantee that they are suitable to your condition. We also do not take responsibility for any loss that might cause to you using these articles. Hence, it is strictly suggested to not to rely on the information provided in these articles completely without getting expert legal advice. It is also suggested to consult or hire an attorney in case of any doubt.