Auto accidents can be complex things to deal with especially if they include huge property and personal damage.
Michigan is a state where no-fault law is followed, which means a Michigan driver, if involved in an auto accident, can turn to his/her insurance provider to claim and settle disputes. This provides great medical and rehab benefits to the drivers involved in auto accident.
NOTE: To claim the loss, your automobile must be insured with a no-fault insurance.
However, liability claims (even personal injury lawsuits) against “at-fault” motorist can also be possible. If an auto accident results in impairment of a body part, or permanent disfigurement, or death, the victim can legally hold the at-fault driver liable for all the injuries and damages.
Time limit to file the lawsuit or claim
In Michigan, you get:
- 3 years from the time of accident to file lawsuit against the other driver for personal injury and/or property damage
- 1 year from the time of accident to file lawsuit for PIP (Personal Injury Protection) benefits
For more information about the Michigan auto accident laws, it is suggested that you consult or hire an expert auto accident lawyer in Michigan.