As per Washington Divorce Law, one should have lived in one county for at least 90 days prior to filing the petition for divorce.
In case one has minor children for which custody could be an issue, the children have to have stayed in the state of Washington with either of the parents for at least 180 days.
- One does not need a lawyer to get a divorce.
- But, it is usually better to hire a lawyer if it is affordable.
- As per the law both the spouses have to agree about everything and
by that it could be fairly easy to register the case and get a verdict without a lawyer.
- In the process in case there are issues that the partners disagree about, then the case may get complicated.
- When there are disagreements, it could be difficult to get a decree which
protects the rights of either spouse unless there is a lawyer.