Identity theft is considered as a serious crime in Wyoming.
Depending upon the seriousness of the theft, it can be placed under a class felony or misdemeanor acts and the penalties follow.
Identity theft laws are placed under the criminal laws of the state under the code section 6-3-901 and 1-1-128.
- According to Wyoming Identity theft laws, if the loss is less than $500, then it is considered as a misdemeanor and if the loss is $500 or more it is placed under the felony.
- The penalties following the crime can range from a fine or imprisonment or even both. Restitution and probation may also follow, depending upon the damage incurred by the identity theft victim.