Submit a Request...Receive the help you need!
We've helped 23 clients find affordable attorneys today.

Click here to know more about membership
  • Members have 24/7 emergency access to their attorneys via Mobile App.
  • Legal consultation for all personal legal matters.
  • You get instant access to your own dedicated law firm.
  • Membership covers you, your spouse/partner, children and dependents.
  • 101 more reasons. Read here
Close

Identity theft laws in Rhode Island

HomeIdentity Theft Rhode IslandIdentity theft laws in Rhode Island

Identity Theft/Fraud happens when someone:

  • Transfer (knowingly or unknowingly) or unlawfully produced or stolen identification document.
  • Possess financial information or identification document of another person with the intent to defraud, or any private entity or political subdivision of it.
  • Transfer or possess document making device and using or producing it for false documentation
  • Possess with intent to transfer or use five or more identification documents, belonging to another person
  • Posses a stolen or false identification or transfer or use identification or financial information knowingly, without lawful authority and with intention of defraud

Rhode Island General Laws section 11-49.1-4

Provisions are applied when you identify personal identification information and documents that include anything, which is used to identify yourself such as dates of birth, names, driver’s license, Social Security number, mother’s maiden name, etc.

Larceny by Obtaining Property by False Pretences

In Rhode Island, person with the intent of defraud utilizes false pretences to attain goods, property, or other property commits the larceny crime. Larceny is when people represent themselves falsely to another person’s servant or agent to obtain property or money. Thus, larceny is a case of felony offense or misdemeanour, defending on the circumstances.

(Rhode Island General Laws section 11-41-4)

Penalties

1. Identity Fraud:

  • First conviction: Three years and a fine up to $5,000
  • Second time conviction: Jail-term of no less than three years, not more than five years and a fine up to $10,000
  • Third time conviction: Fine up to $15,000 and a prison-term of not less than five years, but no greater than 10 years

2. Probation:

  • Regular reporting to probation officer
  • Payment of restitution or fines
  • No further crimes

3. Larceny by obtaining property by false pretenses:

  • Property less than $500: Fine up to $500 and penalty of a year in jail
  • Property more than $500 or a firearm: Fine up to $5,000 with penalty up to 10 years in prison

4. Restitution:

Pay restitution to victims who had suffered a financial loss due to the crime

 

Important: The articles available on uslawyer.us are neither legal advice, nor a replacement for an attorney. The articles are general information and guidance concerning different legal issues. We make sure that these articles prove helpful to you but we do not promise or guarantee that they are suitable to your condition. We also do not take responsibility for any loss that might cause to you using these articles. Hence, it is strictly suggested to not to rely on the information provided in these articles completely without getting expert legal advice. It is also suggested to consult or hire an attorney in case of any doubt.


Add Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *