(888) 808-8831
Need Affordable Foreclosure Lawyer Near You?
Submit your details to connect with a legal provider.

We respect your privacy. Your information will be sent securely and handled with care.

Foreclosure types

HomeForeclosureForeclosure types

Foreclosure is a legal procedure in which a loan provider attempts to recover the balance of a loan from a customer who has stopped paying by selling the asset used as the security for the loan.


Officially, a loan provider (mortgagee), or another mortgage holder, acquires the cancellation of a home loan customer’s (mortgagor)’s the reasonable right of payoff, either by court order or by operation of law (after following a particular legal procedure).


What are the three main foreclosure types?

Judicial foreclosure

Property foreclosure by lawful selling, more generally known as legal foreclosure, which is available in every condition (and required in many), includes selling the mortgaged property under the guidance of a judge, with the proceeds going first to fulfill the mortgage, followed by other home loan holders and finally the mortgagor/borrower if any proceeds are remaining.

Under this system, the lending company triggers foreclosure by processing a court action against the client.

As with all other lawful activities, all parties must inform of the foreclosure. However, notice specifications differ considerably from state to state.

A state or local judge hears the usually short pleadings and then declares a judicial decision.

In some rather unusual circumstances, government law courts handle property foreclosure cases.


Nonjudicial foreclosure

It is another of the most common foreclosure types. Nonjudicial foreclosure needs the home loan to include a power of sale stipulation or a deed of trust with such a stipulation to be used instead of a real home loan.

In some states, such as Florida, nearly all so-called loans are deeds of faith.

This procedure includes the selling of the exact property by the home loan owner without judge guidance. (You will find more information about this below).

This procedure is usually much quicker and less expensive than foreclosure by legal selling.

Strict foreclosure

Other foreclosure types and residential foreclosure, in particular, are minor; they have restricted availability.

Under strict residential foreclosure, the mortgagee introduces it. Only a few states, such as New Hampshire and Vermont, allow it. If successful, a judge mandates the mortgagor to pay the home loan within a specified period.

Should the mortgagor fail to do so, the home loan owner receives the residence title with no responsibility to offer it.

This type of residential foreclosure is usually available only when the value of the residence is less than the debt (“underwater”).

Traditionally, strict residence foreclosure was one of the most widely used types of foreclosure.

If you need more information about the foreclosure types, please leave your contact details here. Specialist legal professionals will get in touch with you and offer you a solution to your queries.

Important: The articles available on are neither legal advice nor a replacement for an attorney. The contents are general information and guidance concerning different legal issues. We make sure that these articles prove helpful to you, but we do not promise or guarantee that they are suitable for your condition. We also do not take responsibility for any loss that might cause to you using these articles. Hence, we strictly suggest you get expert legal advice. Consult or hire an attorney in case of any doubt.