Ohio DUI/DWI Laws is the legal edicts that prohibit drinking and driving in the State are regarded as the OVI, which stands for Operating Under the Influence and Operating While Intoxicated.
Ohio DUI/DWI Laws
In the State of Ohio, however, there are two main statutes that prohibit driving while under the influence and they are: Operating Under the Influence (OVI) and Operating a Vehicle After Underage Consumption (OVAUC).
The law of the state of Ohio against drunk driving include:
- ORC 4511.19: Operating a vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs
- ORC 4511.191: Implied Consent
- ORC 4511.192: Advice to OVI arrestee
- ORC 4511.194: Having physical control of vehicle while under the influence
Legal Limits for Alcohol in Ohio
Legal limits for alcohol vary for different categories of people and it becomes illegal if:
- you are 21 years or older, the legal limit is minimum of .08%
- you are below 21 years old, the legal limit is a minimum of .02%
- you are a commercial driver with your commercial vehicle at the time of arrest, the legal limit is a minimum of .04%
However, it is essential to know that it is not until you your blood alcohol concentration is over the legal limit that you can be convicted of OVI.
The law of Ohio permits you to be charged and convicted if there is other evidence that suggests you were intoxicated and impaired while you were in control/operating a vehicle.
Legal Limits for Controlled Substances
Apart from alcohol, there are other substances that may impair the system of a driver. These substances are often referred to as drugs and they include amphetamine, cocaine, heroin and more.
Prosecutors are able to arrest and charge drivers depending on the amount of these substances found in the body of these drivers. The legal limit for some drugs in the State of Ohio are the following:
|Controlled Substance||The legal limit in Whole Blood, Plasma and Blood Serum||The legal limit in Urine|
|Cocaine||50ng or more||150ng or more|
|Amphetamine||100ng or more||500ng or more|
|Heroin||50ng or more||2000ng or more|
|LSD||10ng or more||25ng or more|
|Marijuana||2ng or more||10ng or more|
|Methamphetamine||100ng or more||500ng or more|
Ohio DUI Penalties
One you have been charged with and DUI, and convicted, then you must pay for the offense you have committed. There are also a number of ways by which you can be penalized and these include:
- Suspension of driver’s license
- Yellow OVI License Plates.
- Alcohol and Drug Education and Treatment
- Ignition Interlock Device
You will be required to pay various fees and fines, which may cost the following:
First DU: range from $375 to $1,075
Second DUI: range from $525 to $1,625
Third DUI: range from $850 to $2,750
First Felony DUI: range from $1,350 to $10,500
There are, however, more costs associated with being convicted of a DUI. Ranging from installing devices to reinstating your license and much more.
Suspending Driver’s License
The length of time for suspending driver’s license are:
First DUI: six months to three years
Second DUI: one year to five years
Third DUI: two years to ten years
First Felony DUI: three years to life
Second Felony DUI: three years to life.
Suspended driver’s license also suspends your right to drive.
Ignition Interlock Device
First-time offenders do not require the use of this device, however, it is required after the first DUI for the offenders. The duration of usage might last for 90 days to five years.
Other penalties are however not required for the first DUI offender. It becomes required from the second offense committed.