Submit a Request...Receive the help you need!
We've helped 57 clients find affordable attorneys today.

Click here to know more about membership

  • Members have 24/7 emergency access to their attorneys via Mobile App.
  • Legal consultation for all personal legal matters.
  • You get instant access to your own dedicated law firm.
  • Membership covers you, your spouse/partner, children and dependents.
  • 101 more reasons. Read here
Close

Family Abuse Prevention Act of Oregon?

HomeFamilyFamily Abuse Prevention Act of Oregon?

Do you feel threatened by a family member? Have you ever been subjected to family abuse? Do you feel unsafe for your children from a family member?

In either of the above situations, the civil order which comes under the Family Abuse Prevention Act can help you. It is basically protection from harm by family or a household member.

The law has some significant pointers which need to be taken account of when filing the petition. A well learned lawyer can aid you in the same.

However, here are the imperative aspects with regard to the Family Abuse Prevention Act of Oregon:-

  • Venue-

in order for you to file it in the county, either party must reside in here. However, there is not a minimum period of residence.

  • Entitled to relief-

the following pointers are requisite for the petitioner to be entitled to relief:-

1. The abuse must have taken place in the preceding 180 days.

2. The abuse should have occurred between family and household members

3. The petitioner should be in danger of further abuse

4. The respondent represents a credible threat to the physical safety of the petitioner.

What is abuse?

It inculcates:-

– Attempt to cause or intentionally causing body injury

– Placing another in fear of causing injury

– Forcing sexual relation by threat or the like

Which members are included in ‘family’?

The family includes:-

– Spouse

– Former spouse

– Adult related by blood, adoption or marriage

– Those that are cohabiting or have cohabited with each other

– Unmarried parents of a child

– Individuals who have had an intimate sexual relationship within 2 years, preceding the filing of the petition.

Are minors to in the position to file the petition?

Indeed, the minors to be in the position to file the petition, if:-

  • Respondent is of 18 years of age or older
  • Petitioner is:-

1. Spouse of respondent

2. Former spouse of respondent

3. Have been in a sexual relationship with respondent.

Important: The articles available on uslawyer.us are neither legal advice, nor a replacement for an attorney. The articles are general information and guidance concerning different legal issues. We make sure that these articles prove helpful to you but we do not promise or guarantee that they are suitable to your condition. We also do not take responsibility for any loss that might cause to you using these articles. Hence, it is strictly suggested to not to rely on the information provided in these articles completely without getting expert legal advice. It is also suggested to consult or hire an attorney in case of any doubt.