To file for a divorce in the state of Missouri,
both the parties should be a resident of the state for at least 3 months prior to filing the divorce case.
In case anyone of the spouse is not the resident of Missouri then at least one of them should have stayed in state for minimum of 6 months prior filing the Missouri divorce case.
As it is known that dissolution of marriage completely depends on State law so it is mandatory that
you meet specific residency requirements to file divorce case.
Legal grounds for divorce:
- In case the respondent had committed adultery.
- When both the spouses are not living together for more than 6 months prior filing the divorce case.