Submit a Request...Receive the help you need!
We've helped 16 clients find affordable attorneys today.

Click here to know more about membership
  • Members have 24/7 emergency access to their attorneys via Mobile App.
  • Legal consultation for all personal legal matters.
  • You get instant access to your own dedicated law firm.
  • Membership covers you, your spouse/partner, children and dependents.
  • 101 more reasons. Read here
Close

Nevada Wrongful Termination Law

HomeNevada Wrongful Job DischargeNevada Wrongful Termination Law

In Nevada the at-will rule is prevalent. This implies that employees work at will. This in turn means that an employee can be fired at any time, for no acumen or any acumen at all.

However, there are exceptions which include:-

  • It is unlawful for firing due to discriminatory reasons.
  • It is wrong to fire you for retaliation for exercising your rights.
  • The employer cannot fire you against violation of an employment contract.

Hence, here is a summary of the same:-

Discriminatory filing law

1. In accordance with the federal law, it is inappropriate for an employer to fire the employee based on race, color, sex, national origin, age, disability, citizenship status or genetic information.

2. For an employer to comply with this, he or she should have a minimum of 15 employees.

3. And, for the age discrimination the minimum employees are 20 employees.

4. The employer cannot fire an employee if he or she is participating in an investigation of a discrimination complaint.

5. However, before you file the lawsuit, you are required to file a complaint with the Government agency.

6. The Nevada Equal Rights Commissions sees into this matter.

7. The Equal Employment Opportunity Commission also has the capability to record your complaint.

Breach of contract

  • The contract can be oral, written or implied.
  • In either of the cases, if your employer fires you without a good cause, you can claim for the breach of contract.

Wage and hour issues

  • The minimum wage for the employees is $7.25 per hour, if the employers are providing health benefit, or else $8.25.
  • Under the federal and state laws, the employees who work more than 40 hours are eligible for overtime, and hence, are liable for the same.
  • Unpaid meal break of 30 minutes for every 8 continues hours of work.
  • It is, thus, illegal for the employers, to threaten an employee if they retaliate against the employee who provide with the testimony of inappropriate wage and hour issues.

Time off work

The state and federal laws provides the employees with the right to take some time off from work for:-

  • Military leave
  • Jury duty
  • Voting
  • Family leave
  • Medical leave
  • School activities.

So, make sure of the above laws, and if you think you have been fired wrongfully, taking assistance from a lawyer will be advisable.

Important: The articles available on uslawyer.us are neither legal advice, nor a replacement for an attorney. The articles are general information and guidance concerning different legal issues. We make sure that these articles prove helpful to you but we do not promise or guarantee that they are suitable to your condition. We also do not take responsibility for any loss that might cause to you using these articles. Hence, it is strictly suggested to not to rely on the information provided in these articles completely without getting expert legal advice. It is also suggested to consult or hire an attorney in case of any doubt.