When filing for divorce in New Jersey it is imperative to remember that
either of the spouses should be a resident of New Jersey for at least a period of 1 year prior filing for divorce.
The New Jersey divorce court may grant you divorce in case both the spouses have irreconcilable difference and it cannot be resolved.
In case of divorce the court can order one spouse to pay alimony to the other
which can be on temporary basis or permanent depending on the financial needs of other spouse.
Laws for granting divorce
- In case the couple is living apart from each other at least for 18 month prior filing for divorce.
- If the couple is undergoing irreconcilable differences which means there is absolutely no chance of reconciliation.