One should be aware of the legal aspects of divorce under Rhode Island Divorce Laws covering the issues that
cause the most conflict and anxiety for all divorcing couples.
There is an overview of a few laws leading to separation process and registering necessities and definitions of regularly used legal norms used in divorce documentation.
For certain legal advice about the effect of laws in divorce there should be consultation with authorized attorney.
The petitioner must be a resident of Rhode Island for at least 12 months to file for separation under Rhode Island divorce law.
- The basis for divorce in Rhode Island are irreconcilable separation,
- Staying away from each other for 3 years
- Extramarital Sex
- Extreme Barbarism
- Purposeful abandonment for 5 years
- Habitual Intoxication
- Total misconduct