In the state of Louisiana, to register a petition for divorce, either of the spouses should have been lived in the state for a time period of 180 days before filing the case.
A movement for divorce can be documented in the parish where either of the partners is domiciled.
- A divorce shall be sanctioned on the petition of a partner except in the case of a religious marriage.
- There should be proof that the other partner has made erotic torture and brutal act over the spouse for divorce.
- As per the Divorce law Louisiana,
the required time limit for divorce is 6 months if there are no infant children involved.