South Carolina like the other states in US holds some strict statutes against the DUI/DWI charges, which means driving under the influence or while intoxicated with alcohol and other drugs. Some of the laws surrounding the DUI/DWI issues in South Carolina are as follows:
- The plea bargain for the DUI/DWI conviction for an act of wet reckless driving is not allowed in South Carolina.
- The prior DUI convictions once reported will last on record for 10 years in South Carolina.
- IID’s i.e., Ignition Interlock Devices are a must for the individuals once convicted of DUI/DWI. These should find their use for 2 years for the second offense and 3 years for the third offense.